The Weekly Update #3

Hard to believe I’ve been doing this for three weeks already…stupid time, marching on like that… Anyway, happy Whatever-the-hell-you-celebrate, happy New Year. May all your dreams come true in 2009.

What I’m Reading Now: Stephen King’s Pet Sematary. It’s a creepy book and pretty good, but I’m worried it may have the same problem that Christine had: too much build-up to a climax that is way too small to satisfy (no innuendo intended, I promise). I finally finished Ender’s Game, and I finally understand why it’s so famous.

What I’m Writing Now: I’m aimlessly pecking away at a few short stories while I recover from a nasty bout of insomnia. I’m also working on the revisions for Sirens, the first novel I’ve ever finished outside the NaNoWriMo contest. So far, Sirens looks like my best bet for getting published, once I get the damned revisions finished. Wish me luck!

What I’m Playing Now: For most of the week, I’ve been fiddling around in Sim Farm, an amusing retro classic from back before Maxis teamed up with EA and went peculiar. There’s something a little unsettling about playing  a simulation whose default starting date is in 1994, but all in all, Sim Farm is pretty awesome, and I’m growing some kick-ass imaginary strawberries.

My Inspirational Thought of the Week: “Never use the ‘There are starving children in Africa,’ line to trivialize your own suffering. Suffering is suffering, so deal with it, allow yourself to admit that you’re unhappy, make yourself feel better. Then maybe make a donation to Doctors Without Borders or something.”

And for those of you with exceedingly good memories: remember my Visual Numbers series of posts? Well, get ready for another episode!

2 Responses to “The Weekly Update #3”

  1. Derek Says:

    I loved sim farm. that was one of my favorites! also sim ant or something like that.

  2. asymptote Says:

    Sim Ant was fairly brilliant. Not the best (or easiest) gameplay in the world, but plenty of style.


Leave a Reply

