SimHeart 2.0

It seems that every time I sit down to work on my heart-simulation project, I get a lot more done than I was expecting. In my last post on the subject, I talked about how I wanted to integrate a more realistic model of the atrioventricular (AV) node, the little bundle of nerve fibers that carries the contraction impulse from the atria at the top of the heart to the ventricles on the bottom. Apparently, I’d entirely misjudged the difficulty of this effort, since, once the solution occurred to me, I was able to implement it in about five minutes.

Here’s what I did. As I said before, each cell in the simulation has two variables assigned to it: ARefrac, which determines whether or not an atrial impulse can pass through the cell; and VRefrac, which determines whether a ventricular impulse can pass through. I solved the AV-realism problem by simply introducing a global variable called AVRefrac that determines whether or not the AV node can accept an impulse. Basically, every time a simulated electrical “spark” strikes the simulated node, as long as AVRefrac is equal to or less than zero, it sets AVRefrac’s value to a user-specified constant I call AV-delay. So, basically, now the ventricles can only respond as fast as the AV node will allow, just like a real heart! When I saw how beautifully my little fix had worked, I was thrilled!

So, my simulated heart is now more realistic than ever. For example, I did a few runs with the refract-length value (the value that determines how quickly cells recover their ability to fire after each firing) set very short so that arrhythmias would occur frequently, so that I could study their effects. Before long, my simulated heart went into atrial flutter/fibrillation (a condition where the small pumping chambers at the top of the heart expand and contract quickly and chaotically, often leading to a dangerously fast ventricular rate. I was amazed to see something very similar to the many atrial-fibrillation EKG’s I’ve looked at:

(Note: in the simulated EKG, I’ve separated the atrial and ventricular signals, since whenever the ventricular rate got very fast, it obscured all the atrial activity, and I wanted to be able to study the atrial activity as well)

Given my tendency towards oversimplified simulations that produce peculiar behavior, the resemblance this bears to real supraventricular tachycardia (fast heart rate caused by the atria, which is often seen in atrial flutter or fibrillation) was frankly, surprising. After about half a second of atrial flutter, the atria begin to fibrillate, producing that classic irregular ventricular response.

Note the extremely high ventricular rate that shows up towards the end of the ECG. That’s a rather unrealistic product of my simulation, since whenever one of the waves of excitation collided with the back of a previous wave, it had a tendency to collapse into a tachycardic or fibrillatory spiral.

There are some forms of supraventricular tachycardia that terminate on their own. They’re called “paroxysmal” supraventricular tachycardia, and my simple little simulation actually managed to produce a run of it!

Some forms of atrial fibrillation occur in the presence of heat block (which, in its most common form, is basically a very slow AV node that doesn’t conduct every impulse that passes to it). In those cases, the fibrillation is frequently asymptomatic or minimally symptomatic, since the heart doesn’t end up racing. When I set the AV-delay parameter higher than usual, I observed this very same phenomenon.

Eventually, the aforementioned wave-collision problem had become annoying enough that I decided to re-write part of the simulation so that there was a small probability that an electrical spark could actually cross a cell that had not entirely recovered. That solved a lot of my problems.

In the re-written simulation, atrial fibrillation still produces that classic irregular ventricular heartbeat, and this time, since the waves are more collision-tolerant, the behavior doesn’t immediately degenerate into ventricular fibrillation, which gives me a chance to actually study it properly.

More updates as they’re warranted. And for those reader(s?) who are wondering what the hell has been wrong with me lately, don’t worry, I’ll be turning the blog over to my old cynical, sarcastic self very shortly.

UPDATE:

I was sitting around without much to do, so I opened up SimHeart and let it run in the background. When I checked in on it again a few minutes later, I’d discovered some very interesting behavior:

Apparently, some of the standard sort of atrial fibrillation had started, then, spontaneously self-organized into a coordinated wave spiraling cyclically through the atria. You can see the wave in the screenshot.

This really grabbed my attention, so I watched it for a while, and discovered that, strangely enough, the wave was quite stable.

Not even the normal sinus beats, which occasionally inserted themselves in the path of the wave, were very good at disrupting it. Not long after this screenshot, it degenerated rather suddenly into normal atrial fibrillation.

Then, while having a look at the pictures a few minutes later, I realized something: my simulation had produced true atrial flutter. What I saw before and called atrial flutter was really just organized fibrillation. This, though, exhibits all the classic features of atrial flutter: rapid atrial waves with a sawtooth shape. In this case, since I had the ventricular response set to be fairly quick, it turned into quite realistic atrial tachycardia.

I tried to save the state of the simulation so that I could study it later, but as there are some features of NetLogo with which I’m not entirely familiar, I wasn’t able to do it. So, for now, I guess I’ll just keep running HeartSim in the background until I see that rhythm again.

3 Responses to “SimHeart 2.0”

  1. David Secaecg Says:

    Wow I supply Seca ECG equipment, so was having a browse of all things heart related its amazing the diversity of interests, that most poetic of organs has. My question is as a layman what can the above software be applied to, sorry if im being a bit thick!

  2. asymptote Says:

    Well, at the moment, it can’t be applied to much of anything. It’s still an extremely approximate model, a sort of hobby model, if you like.

  3. SimHeart 3.0 « The Life of a Math Major Says:

    […] I wrote a series of posts about the behavior of my NetLogo heart simulation (namely, this one and this other one). SimHeart has been on the backburner since then, partly because I was making some effort (some) to […]


Leave a Reply

