Ranting & Raving: Episode 1

In view of my tendency to spend most of my blog posts ranting about different things, I’ve decided to collect and condense all of my rants, that’s right, all into a single series of posts. From now on, readers will be able to tell right away when a major whine is about to begin, and get out before it’s too late.

So, I bring you: Ranting & Raving!

A list of words and phrases that I’m tired of hearing in the news:

  • Tragedy: It is automatically tragic when a good person dies. There is no need to remind us that, for example, the Indonesian tsunami of 2004 was a tragedy. I got that from the 300,000 deaths.
  • Boots on the Ground: If our troops are deployed, they will obviously be on the ground (this phrase is never used in reference to Air Force personnel). I can’t remember the last time I saw a floating Marine.
  • Going Forward: As in “The best course of action going forward.” When you’re making future predictions, this is nothing more than nonsensical filler. Nearly all people are aware that time moves in a forward-like direction.
  • Terrible Shooting: Okay, this one may not be all that common, but it still has to be said: isn’t it automatically terrible when someone shoots at another someone?
  • 24-Hour News Cycle: I don’t know why this one annoys me, but it does.
  • Breaking News: This one is finally disappearing on its own, thank goodness.
  • Special Report: Just because you call something a special report doesn’t mean that it’s actually important.
Posted in Rants. 1 Comment »

One Response to “Ranting & Raving: Episode 1”

  1. rockwell sonicrafter Says:

    Excellent work buddy, keep writing.


Leave a Reply

«

