In Remembrance

Having been absent from my blog of late, I didn’t think to write anything about September 11th. I didn’t mean any disrespect by it, and here, belated, are my thoughts:

I believe that September the 11th is a very particular day. It is a day to remember the people in Pennsylvania, in Washington, and in New York. It is a day to honor lives lost, and to pay respect for the people who withstood the horrors of that day. I’m not going to talk about politics. I’m not going to talk about why 9-11 justified the wars in Afghanistan and Iraq. I’m not going to complain that it didn’t justify the wars, either. Because I believe that 9-11 should be one day bereft of politics. We should not spend the day talking about the threat from overseas terrorist, or government policies. It is simply a day to honor human loss. It is a day to remember those who gave their lives to save the victims of that day. It is a day to reach out and console our fellow people. It is a day to remember that we are all part of the human race, and we all share each other’s grief.

Leave a Reply

