From Powder to Mush

Today marks the first day since Winter ’05 that my town has seen any real snowfall. I thought it was going to be repeat of the winter of 2003 (or 2004, I can’t remember), when we got something like five inches of snow that got topped off overnight by a downpour of freezing rain, which left everything covered in this really cool icy crust (well, it was cool until someone made a snowball out of the icy bit and slung it into my face), but instead, it just started raining, and now we’re left with about three inches of slush.

I was hoping that I’d get a chance to play in the snow like I did when I was a kid, but I found it infinitely more entertaining to just walk around looking at things, poking at things, and listening to the oh-so-rare sound of silence.

Today, I also got something else I’d been hoping for since time immemorial: a break. Since the snow was so heavy earlier, they shut down my university, and I got an entire day to myself. That hasn’t happened since the semester began. Now I only have one more class until the weekend! Yay! Release the celebretory doves!

Leave a Reply

